2014.

Given the amount of time I spent lying in bed feeling sick and/or miserable this year, my general feeling about 2014 is that it was a bit of a write-off and not much happened… but actually, stuff DID happen. Lots of stuff. Significant stuff. Here are ten things.

1. I GOT ENGAGED.

I was in my pyjamas and he used a hair-tie instead of a ring. Talk about spontaneous.

2. I GOT DEPORTED.

No regrets. I had a great three-month break in Cape Town, and the fact that I was (rather unfairly) evicted from the UK is going to be a good fireside tale for the rest of my life.

3. I GOT MARRIED IN COFFEE SHOP.

The wedding hasn’t happened yet, but the paperwork was done two months after the engagement. I wore a dress.

4. I TEMPED FULL-TIME AT A LITERARY AGENCY FOR FOUR MONTHS.

Learned a lot, confronted my fear of answering phones and even got to meet some authors.

5. I TRAVELLED.

A long weekend away in Brighton, a week away in north Wales, two trips to Guernsey and a day-trip to Sark. I also discovered many great things in London, which still feels very new to me.

6. I GOT A JOB WITH A LITERARY CONSULTANCY.

So it’s not full time and it’s not lucrative, but it’s something and it’s a challenge and I’m good at it. I got some other freelance work, too.

7. I DID SOME NEW/FUN/HEALTHY/INTERESTING THINGS.

Attended some life-drawing classes, went to David Mitchell’s The Bone Clocks book launch, saw Wicked and 1984 at the theatre, enjoyed a feminist meetup in a pub, ran three times a week (until I got sick/sad), spent time with various friends and family members on their trips to London, etc.

8. I TOOK MY MENTAL HEALTH SERIOUSLY.

Well, at first I didn’t, but then I did, and now things are getting better! 🙂

9. I RECONNECTED WITH PEOPLE.

Not as much as I should’ve/could’ve, but I feel like I’m more connected now than I was a few months back, and I’m deeply grateful to everyone who has reciprocated.

10. I STARTED PLANNING MY WEDDING.

This has been tricky, especially in the circumstances, but things are falling into place and I’m starting to look forward to this sentimental life event. It’s going to be wonderful to have so many special people together in one place.

2014 was not an easy year. I didn’t achieve all (or even most) of what I wanted to achieve, but I did learn a lot and I feel like I’ve set myself up for a pretty interesting year in 2015, with a stronger foundation of self-awareness and a better focus on health and happiness. Thanks to everyone for their positive contributions to this year. No matter how small or distant those contributions may seem — a Skype call here, a comment there — they are very much appreciated and they make a big difference.

mordenhallrun

Onward!

2 thoughts on “2014.

Leave a Reply

