Mini Review: ‘The Casual Vacancy’, by J.K. Rowling

TheCasualVacancy
 
It took a while for me to get used to the idea of Ms Rowling dropping ‘fucks’ and ‘cunts’ into her writing, but I loved this book. She is so good at plotting and so brilliant with characterisation that I can’t fault her, and it’s not just because I was (and still am) a massive Harry Potter fan. The Casual Vacancy was long and tragic, tackling important social issues like poverty, domestic abuse, rape, drug addiction, self-harm, class prejudice and racism, to name but a few. Despite the seriousness of the subject matter, it was infused with plenty of Rowling’s wry observational humour; my favourite. I enjoy comic tragedies, and this is a particularly good one.
 
Verdict: Definitely read it, if you haven’t already. I was slow to pick it up, but I’m glad I got there eventually.
4 thoughts on “Mini Review: ‘The Casual Vacancy’, by J.K. Rowling

  1. I was so worried her books would suck because of my love for HP. So, sadly, I haven’t read anything post-Potter. Ugh, I know, I suck! Another book to add to the pile! Have you read the Cuckoos Calling or whatever it’s called? That looks so intriguing!

    • I was also tentative, but I’m really glad I took the plunge! It’s so different to HP, so it’s not like it needs to be compared. I only thought about the fact that it was her when she wrote something very crude, because it was slightly amusing to me. (Yep, I’m like 12 years old!) Those Robert Galbraith books are high up on my to-read list! Looking forward to comparing them to this one.

  2. I have the Robert Galbraith books on my radar, but I’ve been afraid I wouldn’t like this one. You’re totally right though. It’s JK Rowling, and she is a wonderful storyteller no matter what she’s talking about. 🙂

  3. I’m glad you liked it too! I’m also a HUGE Harry Potter fan, and was very nervous about reading this in case it didn’t deliver; but it did. Now to get my hands on the Galbraith books…

Leave a Reply

