My 3-Month Deportation Trip

Unlike my blog, I have been very much alive these past few months. I’m back in London after staying with my family in Cape Town for a quarter of a year. If I had been told when I was deported that I wouldn’t be back for such a long time, I’d probably have had a bit of a tantrum, but, as it turns out,  I really enjoyed my deportation trip. When I wasn’t working or doing admin, I got to spend time with people I’ve missed terribly and do many things that mean so much more to me now than they did before I emigrated. There were a few major life events, but I won’t go into those here. What I will go into is a lazy list of things I enjoyed during my time in Cape Town.

1. MOUNTAINS

Table Mountain and the city.

Table Mountain + the city.

2. FORESTS

Newlands Forest.

Newlands Forest.

3. BEACHES

DSCN3619edit

Noordhoek Beach + family.

4. SKIES

Kommetjie Road, sunset.

Kommetjie Road, sunset.

5. CAVES

Boomslang Cave + brother.

Boomslang Cave  exit/entrance + brother.

6. BOTANICAL GARDENS

Kirstenbosch Gardens.

Kirstenbosch Gardens.

7.  AMAZING VIEWS FROM HIKES WALKS AND HIKES

Fish Hoek, twilight, from the trail to Elsie's Peak.

Fish Hoek, twilight, from the trail to Elsie’s Peak.

8. PICNICS

9. HOME-COOKED MEALS

10. 2-FOR-1 BURGER NIGHTS AND ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT PIZZA NIGHT WITH OLD FRIENDS

11. CAKE AND TEA WITH FRIENDS, DINNER AND WINE WITH FRIENDS, PIZZA AND COCKTAILS WITH FRIENDS, SNACKS AND FIZZY DRINKS WITH FRIENDS

12. BRAAIS

13. SUSHI, MORE THAN ONCE

14. THE BEST FISH AND CHIPS IN THE WORLD (HAKE AND CHIPS FROM FISH HOEK FISHERIES, IF YOU MUST KNOW)

15. GOOD WINE AND DELICIOUS FOOD AT A WINE FARM WITH MY AUNT, MOTHER AND GRANDMOTHER

16. MORE TEA THAN I CAN HANDLE (JUST KIDDING, I CAN HANDLE ALL THE TEA)

17. CATCHING-UP WITH WITH PEOPLE AT RAFIKI’S, BANANA JAM CAFE, THE BRASS BELL, KALK BAY, FISH HOEK BEACH, VARIOUS MALLS, MY FAMILY’S HOME AND ELSEWHERE

18. MAJOR NOSTALGIA WHILE CHOOSING GEMSTONES AT THE SCRATCH PATCH WITH AN OLD FRIEND

19. A MAGIC SHOW

20. OTHER RANDOM EXCURSIONS TO PLACES THAT ARE LOVELY WITH PEOPLE WHO ARE AWESOME

21. FAMILY OUTINGS AND SHENANIGANS, ONCE INVOLVING TEQUILA

22. WATCHING MOVIES WITH MY MOM + POPCORN

23. QUALITY TIME WITH MY CAT

24. BOARD GAMES, CARD GAMES AND OTHER GAMES, SOMETIMES WITH OLD FRIENDS, SOMETIMES WITH NEW FRIENDS AND SOMETIMES WITH FAMILY

25. MOVIES AND RESTAURANTS AND A FERRIS WHEEL AND VARIOUS HAPPY MEMORIES WITH MY PARTNER IN TOTALLY LEGAL ACTIVITIES

26. SCENIC DRIVES

27. PERFECT WEATHER

28. SUNSHINE (THE LATE MARCH/APRIL GENTLE VARIETY, NOT THE FEBRUARY INFERNO)

29. LOTS OF SPACE

30. LOVE AND HAPPINESS (CHEEEESE)

I wanted to write a pointlessly in-depth post about my feelings, but I probably won’t. I could sum it up by saying that I feel overdue for a long and intense cry, but everything is good and I’m not sure what to cry about, so I haven’t done it yet. Just too many feelings, I reckon. TOO MANY FEELINGS. Thank you to everyone who  made these last few months so lovely and memorable. Yes, even you, UK Home Office. None of it would’ve happened without your bullshit, so thanks for that.

3 thoughts on “My 3-Month Deportation Trip

Leave a Reply

