Stuff I should do for myself this year. (Totally not resolutions.)

WRITE STUFF (preferably novel stuff)

WRITE MORE STUFF (preferably more novel stuff, but any stuff, even blog stuff, is better than no stuff)

EAT MORE VEGETABLES (without being too anal about it)

EAT LESS CHOCOLATE (but not too much less)

DRINK MORE BOOZE (because I’m basically teetotalling here, and that was never my intention)

BE MORE ACTIVE (because “getting fit” is too ambitious)

SIT PROPERLY (at least sometimes, because the constant slouching, legs-on-chair business is wrecking my back)

DO MORE HOUSEWORK (maybe, because gross, but probably not)

READ MORE STUFF (than I already do, and faster)

CARE LESS (about stuff that bothers me but has no wider consequences)

CARE MORE (actively, about stuff that I should actively care more about)

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH PEOPLE (but don’t force it if there’s no reciprocation)

SWEAR LESS (but not too much less, because I fucking love swearing)

USE FEWER EXCLAMATION MARKS AND EMOTICONS (maybe)

PAINT MY NAILS SOMETIMES (because I used to enjoy that, so why not?)

POLISH MY BOOTS MORE REGULARLY (because I love my boots and I appreciate their tireless service)

WEAR MY NEGLECTED CLOTHES (instead of opting for the same jeans and t-shirts every day)

GET BETTER AT MESSAGING WITH A TOUCHSCREEN (because hop your are dong wheel)

BE MORE HONEST (mostly with myself)

DON’T PUT MYSELF LAST (because that leads to unhappiness)

DON’T PUT MYSELF FIRST (because that makes me an asshole)

DISENTANGLE MY SELF-WORTH FROM MY EMPLOYMENT AND POPULARITY AND ARTICULATENESS (because mental health depends on it)

BE AT PEACE WITH HOW I LOOK, EVEN IF MY SKIN AND HAIR AREN’T COOPERATING (but allow for lapses in the peace, because I’m a human being)

ALLOW FOR LAPSES IN EVERYTHING (because they’re inevitable)

LIKE MYSELF (because “loving” myself sounds barf-worthy, but liking myself is probably a good idea)

BE HAPPY (when I can and without forcing it)

2 thoughts on “Stuff I should do for myself this year. (Totally not resolutions.)

Leave a Reply

