WIPMarathon Final Check-in! (#4)

Click HERE for more information about the WIPMarathon!

Click HERE for check-ins from other WIPMarathoners!

Big hugs and high fives to Ifeoma Dennis for organising this marathon! Seriously. It has been HUGE for me. I have become involved in the online writing community for the first time through doing this and I am learning so much every day. There is still loads I need to wrap my head around and I get a little overwhelmed at times, but WIPMarathon has been the best introduction that anyone, including an ignorant wannabe like me, could ever wish for. Friendly people, great feedback, solid support. Thanks, you lot. You are awesome and I’d love to keep in touch!

Current word count:

My goal for this marathon was to write 20k words. I ended up writing 27k (my WIP is at 36k in total), so that’s a success, even though it’s a hell of a lot less than what most people seem to be capable of writing monthly! I want to pick up the pace, but I find that as soon as I try too hard to get impressive numbers, the quality of my writing just nosedives and then I want to rewrite all of it immediately.

WIP issues this week:

Doubt, distraction, lethargy, and a couple of my characters getting a bit wobbly and indistinct. I’m considering dropping one of my four POVs, but I don’t know if that’s going to solve the problem or just make it worse. Ergh. I’ll probably keep her, but I need to make her stronger in the rewrites!

What I learnt this week in writing:

As mentioned above, I’m a slow writer. I edit heavily as I go. I spend a lot of time shuffling things around and going back and adding stuff in to make sure that what I want to write next is justified. I’m a total pantser. I’m learning not to compare my process to other people’s processes too much, and I’m also trying not to compare numbers. As much as I’d love to, I just can’t churn out most of a novel in a month, unless I’m writing something I have no intention of reworking or editing, as with NaNoWriMo, where I willingly sacrifice all coherence and quality for fun and/or brainstorming. Respect to everyone who can write sense at high speed, but it’s just not me. My writing chugs along like an old car and constantly stalls and breaks down in potholes/plotholes. SEE WHAT I DID THERE? (Kill me.)

What distracted me this week while writing:

Internet. Lovely weather. The usual. Also, I decided to give Scrivener a try and spent most of yesterday working through the tutorial, importing my novel, cutting it up into POV chunks, adding keywords, making character profiles… All good things to be doing, I suppose. I’m loving Scrivener so far, even though I haven’t completely got the hang of all of its features yet! It’s great.

My plan for after the writing marathon:

Carry on writing! I want to keep up (or even slightly exceed) the pace that I’ve established this month and I want to finish the first draft of this WIP by around November so I can start revising. My internship might get in the way of that, but it’s worth a try anyway. I also want to explore the online writing community further and learn more about everything and everyone involved in it. This marathon has marked the beginning of the next stage of my writing life and I’m incredibly excited about the future!

Last 200 words:

(260 words. I’ve sent a bunch of my characters on an adventure around Earth-but-not-Earth. It’s an important part of my constantly evolving, ultra-vague plot and it’s providing great opportunities for world-building. :D)

The forest eventually begins to taper off and gives way to meadowlands followed by scrubby coastland, where I spot a settlement made up of low, white-roofed houses arranged in concentric circles. I can see the platform of a hovertube station just outside the settlement, and a glinting hovertube curling away from it like a metal snake.

“What’s that place called?” I ask.

“Sea Pebbles,” says Magrin. “I’ve been there once on the tube. They don’t have an Academy, but some people who study coastal marine life end up settling there to do research.”

I can just see them, ants in the sunshine. I wonder if any of them are looking up at us. Cool patches of shade slide over their little world as cloud wisps move in front of the sun. It’s astounding, how tiny we are. How do we manage to destroy things so easily?

“We’re going to pass over the Gap now,” says Jex consulting his slab, which is fitted into a swivel-mount above the control panel. I press my face against the glass and watch Sea Pebbles become more and more miniature behind us, and then turn to look at the shimmering expanse of water ahead. The Gap is the English Channel.

Birda hauls out a jumbo bag of dried, spiced frigram leaves and passes them around. Magrin graciously declines but I’m not one to turn down snacks, even when they do look like the part of a vegetable you’d throw into a compost heap. They don’t taste bad, but I’d kill for a bag of peanuts.

13 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Final Check-in! (#4)

  1. Congrats on superseding your WIPMarathon goal!
    You shouldn’t push yourself to write faster than you are comfortable with, your choice of words in writing is a bit complex and literary and demands dedication! So don’t give it up and don’t fall into the trap of comparison! You ROCK.

    I sooo love the imagery in your excerpt and the way your sentences flow. My favorite lines should be- “Cool patches of shade slide over their little world as cloud wisps move in front of the sun. It’s astounding, how tiny we are. How do we manage to destroy things so easily?”

    I’ll be cheering you on and stalking your blog to read more updates about your WIP 😉
    Thanks for making WIPMarathon happen! ❤

  2. Congratulations on exceeding your goals! I edit as I go along, too – I can’t just write whatever comes into my head, otherwise it bugs me until I re-draft! I’ve loved meeting so many amazing writers on the #WIPMarathon! Best of luck with this WIP! 🙂

  3. Congrats on exceeding your word count goal! *high fives* Your writing process sounds a lot like mine 😛 I long ago gave up on trying to do NaNoWriMo – I just don’t enjoy writing that fast. And being a pantser means I need to take the time to think and rearrange as I go. You are not alone! 🙂 I enjoyed the excerpt – definitely something I’d like to read more of!

    Happy writing and the best of luck with all your writerly goals. Hope to see you in the twittersphere!

  4. Congratulations on meeting & BEATING your goal for the month! 😀
    Everyone has their own process. You have to do what works for you. It’s what best for you as a writer.

    I’ve opened Scrivener twice and stared at it. Lol! Guess I need to start poking around. Good luck with this story!! I love the description in your excerpt. Very good!

  5. Congrats!! And I agree with everyone else. It’s not a race against other writers. It’s beating your personal best that matters! 😀

    Good luck with the story. I like the bits I’ve read so far!

  6. Congrats on getting more than the goal you set yourself, that’s great work!

    I like your excerpt and love the place name Sea Pebbles! I have a love/hate thing with coming up with place names, I love doing it but I struggle to settle on ones that really fit.

    I totally understand what you mean about working at your own pace, that’s something I tend to struggle with when I see people knocking out so many words in a week or a month or whatever but it needs to be whatever works for you. You don’t want to be writing so many words just for the hell of it and then give yourself so much more work to do when it comes to edits.

    I too hope that marathoners will keep in touch and it’s been great talking to you on Twitter and I’m glad you got Scrivener sorted out, it’s the best! Good luck with continuing your project, hope you will continue to share your progress 🙂

  7. Wow, awesome job surpassing your goal! Like I’ve said (and complained about) before, I’m a relatively slow writer, too, unless I’m writing a scene that I’ve gone over in my head a hundred times already, so it’s like I’ve already mentally edited it. I only managed as much as I did this month because I somehow managed to put in more hours than usual. We all have different ways of reaching “The End,” and I think that’s one of the coolest parts about being writers. So look at your bad self rocking out those words however you have to–go you! 🙂

  8. Your progress is amazing, AWESOME job!
    Oh self doubt, she is such a biotch isn’t she. I fight with her often myself, but each day I try to stay focused and positifve and so far so good!
    Great voice in your sample words, I love the last line 🙂
    Happy Writing and take care!

  9. You’re a slow writer? On what planet? You crushed your goal, and that was no small feat. Give yourself a sugary treat. Seriously.

    Anyway, congrats and good luck!

  10. Congrats on crushing your goal! I agree with everything. I am a slow writer too and want everything to be great and I know it can’t at the beginning. So I am here to help with the future goals!!! write on!

Leave a Reply

