WIP Marathon Intro!

I hit my teensy tiny Camp NaNo goal of 10,000 words today and I was just thinking “Damn, I want a Camp NaNo for August…” when I read this post by Ifeoma Dennis and it was like a ray of sunshine breaking through the cloudy London skies. A fantastic idea, and I’m definitely participating. Here’s my intro!

Marathon Goal:

I’m going to double July’s pathetic goal and go for 20,000 words. I know I should be getting even more than that, but at this point I don’t want the stress of reaching a high word count to get in the way of what I’m writing. I’m working through a tricky bit at the moment. I’d rather succeed in a small way than not manage to reach my goal and then feel crappy about it. If I get to 20k with ease, I’ll try to increase that number for September!

Stage of writing:

I’m calling it Draft 1.5 because I started over without even nearly finishing the first draft. I needed to change the tense and rethink my protagonist. If I had continued down the path I was headed, I would’ve been too bogged down by it.

What inspired my current project:

It’s a speculative fantasy sci-fi alternative history… Actually I have no idea what it is. I sometimes refer to it as YA, but I then I write something horrible and think “This is not for young’uns!” and then I think “Wait, I’m young!” and then I think “Am I young?” and then I think “What qualifies as young?” and then I think “All this categorising of things is terribly confusing and probably unnecessary!” and then I realise that I’m being silly and I stop asking myself so many questions and I carry on writing my nonsense instead.

I wrote a bit about my book here earlier this month. It’s inspired partly by the chunk of crap I produced for NaNoWriMo in 2012 and partly by a story (or at least a character and part of a setting) that I’ve had in my head since I was quite young.

What might slow down my marathon goal:

My addiction to watching random crap on YouTube and my love of afternoon naps and all the tasty books I have on my Kindle, waiting to be read… there are many things that might slow me down, but this marathon will help!

 

Good luck everyone! Looking forward to “meeting” you all as we write our way to victory. Thanks Ifeoma!

17 thoughts on “WIP Marathon Intro!

  1. I like you already, Laurie! 🙂

    I’m planning to start writing somewhere without internet because *sigh*. Read your novelbarf post and your excerpt made me go GIMME RIGHT NOW. Good luck with your goals this August!

    • Yay! Thank you! And likewise! This is a fantastic idea and I’m so excited to get glimpses of other works in progress and geek out with all of you. I should probably try going internet-free for a while too… It’s a curse! I have no self-control sometimes. Good luck to you too, and thanks for making this happen. 🙂

  2. Hi there!
    1. Your blog is beautiful. Lovely design.
    2. I’m in England, too! I live in Ramsgate, by the sea in Thanet.
    3. I love that you used the phrase “geek out,” because that is basically how I referred to the marathon to my husband today. No shame.
    See you on twitter! x

  3. Good luck with the WIPmarathon! Definitely know what you mean about a love of youtube, the moment I go on there I’m trapped in a never ending cycle of recommended videos!

    • Nice to meet you too! 😀 I chose my 20k wordcount based on my experience with the 50k for NaNo last year. I got to 50k, but almost all of it was unusable because I was so focused on the numbers that I sort of forgot to craft what I was writing! I think I’ll feel pretty good if I manage to get 30k, but 20k is what I’m aiming for, just to keep it chilled! 😉

  4. The point is to just keep writing. Don’t worry about the word count too much. Because if you’re like you’ll just end up sad if you don’t get to it and then it’s this awful snowball effect of writer self depreciation. That’s how it works for me anyway. Good luck!

    • Indeed! That sounds EXACTLY like me. It doesn’t take much to send me tumbling down the well of despair. xD I’m trying to focus on the “what” and not the “how much” for this month! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

