Writing Update!

It’s time for a writing update! Well, sort of. I didn’t actually do any writing this weekend. BUT. I did return to Richmond Park where many, many photographs were taken for landscape description inspiration!

Look at this tree!

Look at this tree!

image026

Look at this pathway!

image036

Look at this log!

I also signed up to a meetup group for unpublished writers working on fiction novels. The workshops aren’t free (£5 each) because they rent out a big room in a restaurant, but it looks like it could be a great way to meet people, smash my way out of my comfort zone, and get more involved in London’s literary and writing scene. Luc (the most supportive and optimistic boyfriend in the world) is paying for me to do this, possibly in the hopes that I’ll one day publish a bestseller. Haha! ❤

The first meetup is tonight and I am extremely nervous even though I won’t be one of the people reading from my work. The nerves are from the idea of meeting new people and finding the place on my own, but once I’m there and the introductions are over, I should be ok. I can’t see myself volunteering to be a reader any time soon because the stammering thing is going through a bad patch, but for now, meeting writers and offering what feedback I can on their work and absorbing the advice they receive from others will be enough to make it worthwhile.

I’m more than halfway through my pathetic Camp NaNo goal of 10,000 words, but it’s really not enough. I’m hoping to step it up this week and go beyond that goal. And blogging doesn’t count! If Richmond Park was just down the road and my laptop didn’t overheat without its cooling pad or run out of battery after an hour, I’d definitely do my writing on this bench:

The Throne of Inspiration

The photo doesn’t capture the incredible ambiance of this place, of course, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. It’s magical! I’ll be letting my mind drift back into that forest whenever the hormonal roller coaster threatens to fuck up my week. It’s on its monthly drop through the bad bit right now. Wait no, scrap that, it’s not a roller coaster. I enjoy roller coasters. It’s a boat. A crappy boat in a stinky harbour, rising and falling on the sludgy swells and making me want to chuck up my breakfast. Speaking of which… breakfast! Bye!

4 thoughts on “Writing Update!

  1. Laurie this sounds great! Also awesome for contacts and networking. Also, I love reading your blog posts, you’re hilarious! And love the photos of the forest – looks incredible.

    • Thanks! There are publishing people involved in the group, so who knows! Maybe something more will come of it. I’m keeping positive. 🙂

      The parks are absolutely amazing here. It would be so great to have picnics in them with all the old UCT friends!

Leave a Reply

