London: First Week.

My first week in London is wrapping up and I feel like I should write something about it. In all honesty, I’m too lazy to put in the sort of time and effort required to write a worthy summary of everything that I’ve seen and felt. It deserves a thesis. Only today did we manage to buy the cables required for me to use my laptop here, and I’m itching to get back to my novel writing, but I’ll scrape out a few thoughts for the blog first.

I still feel like I’m not really here, like I’m going to wake up one morning in my bed, in Fish Hoek. At the same time, I feel like I’ve been here forever. I don’t know how to explain this properly, but maybe others who have done this sort of thing or who have experienced other major life-changes have an idea about what I mean.

The weather has been interesting. Bright and hot one day, and then grey and bitterly cold the next. Yesterday we got rained on and hailed on and then the sun came out a few hours later and the heated room became very stuffy. I thought Cape Town was the city of ridiculously unpredictable weather, but apparently London in spring is even more ridiculous! Sweats and chills aside, it’s always beautiful.

I’ve gone on a few mini walking adventures through parts of the city with Luc and with Kasha, and while I’m too ignorant and lazy to say exactly everywhere I’ve been and too forgetful to document all the sights, I can say that it is absolutely amazing here and I know I’m going to be tramping the place flat as the weeks go by. The atmosphere is enthralling and there is so much to see and experience, and so many places to go. I’m in England, but I’m also in the middle of the world, where it feels as though samples of humanity from almost every part of the planet have been assembled and stirred up into a colourful vortex of cultures and languages. It’s phenomenal.

Now that my laptop is up and running, I have to get stuck into the boring stuff too… the editing of my CV and the job hunt. I’ve been observing Luc as he goes through this process (though in a very different field to mine) and I’ve decided that, unlike him, I’m not too nervous about the interviews or the tests, but I’m extremely nervous about getting confused with the buses and tubes and failing to actually arrive at the interviews at all. I don’t mean to put myself down unnecessarily, but it’s true when I say that, when it comes to certain things, such as navigating the public transport of a strange city, I am very, very, very stupid. Luc’s brilliant at it. If he isn’t already working by the time my first interviews happen, I’m going to be dragging him along with me as a navigator.

This is pathetic. Such a profound week in my life and I feel like I’m capturing it by drawing with a stick in the sand. I guess it’s related to the reason why I’ve barely taken any photographs. I don’t want to see anything through my camera right now, and I don’t want to waste too much time fiddling with settings and bag zips. It’s too fresh for reflection. I’m overwhelmed.

The hard part is knowing that I can’t sit down with the family and chat about everything over a glass of red wine. I miss all my far-away family and friends already, and this is only going to get more difficult. That said, I am thankful to have Luc and Kasha in this wild little travel boat with me. I don’t think I’d be strong enough to do this without them. I know that this adventure is a good thing and I hope that my future blog posts about it are going to be a little less candyfloss and a little more British beef and potatoes.

Love to everyone, near and far.

3 thoughts on “London: First Week.

  1. I’m in England, but I’m also in the middle of the world, where it feels as though samples of humanity from almost every part of the planet have been assembled and stirred up into a colourful vortex of cultures and languages.

    I WANT TO BE THERE WITH YOU!
    (Such a lovely description, I almost feel like I am ^^)

    • ❤ Teleporters, right? Why do they not exist? Science has failed us. Really hope you can come over here some day! It would be awesome, even if it's just for a holiday or a business trip!

Leave a Reply

