November Update

I’ve been avoiding the blog because I feel guilty spending any time writing here when I could be catching up with NaNoWriMo, but I thought I’d check in and post a quick update. In list form.

1. NaNoWriMo. I hit the half way mark. Days and days after I should’ve hit it, but still. I got there. I’ve been struggling to get my daily word count or catch up on missed days because my lazy fantasy/ sci-fi fusion story really wasn’t and isn’t going anywhere. As much as I enjoy reading those genres, writing them is not for me. If nothing else, this exercise has taught me that. In order to get more words for NaNo, I’m essentially starting over with a new idea for the second half of the word count. I’ll find some way to link the two parts together loosely so that I can justify calling this month’s writing a “novel”. Still unsure about whether or not I’l reach the 50k word count, but even if I get 30k or 40k, I’ll be pleased with myself. It’s more writing than I’ve done in all the time since I handed in my MA novel. (I need to work on my character naming though. I just named one of my characters “Lemon”. He’s a regular bloke in a regular novel. I didn’t even think about it. I just got a picture of his face in my head and typed “said Lemon”, after a chunk of his dialogue. Maybe I’m cracking.)

Edit: Here’s a screencap of my NaNo stats, with my word count bars never quite managing to hit the grey line. :-/

Cannot… reach… eeergh…

2. Scully! My dear friend Kasha is far away on the other side of the planet, and I’m fostering her baby, Scully cat, until she’s ready to take the trip and join her. It’s been so different having a furry face in our flat. She was terrified of us for the first few days, but she has now settled in nicely and established a bit of routine. She likes my blue office chair (I’ve started using another chair so that she can use the blue one as her throne), she likes laser pointers (a lot), she likes the soft food with the chunks and gravy, she like tickles and cuddles, and she likes a certain long-leafed plant… Scully and the plant had a love affair of sorts until I decided to end the relationship by giving the partly-devoured plant to my mom. (Sorry, Scully!) She’s such a sweet cat and I love coming home to her enthusiastic fuzziness! 🙂

3. Health. Meh. Mehhhh. Mehhhhhhh. Haven’t been feeling great in a few weeks now. Weird aches and pains, low energy, blah, blah. Don’t feel like whinging about it. No big deal, just a bit of a downer. With so many people battling serious illness, I consider myself lucky to be as healthy as I am, and I know I should start looking after myself a bit better to keep it that way and get the most out of what I have while I have it.

4. General things that have happened that are worth mentioning (in no particular order):

4.1. Tally came to visit! It was a work trip, but the weekend was ours! Got to catch up with Tally and see a bunch of people and it was great. We went to Banana Jam on Friday night and Cape to Cuba on Saturday night. Good times (and good food) were had by all.

4.2. I had my eyes tested for the first time in years. I’ve been feeling increasingly and frustratingly blind lately, so it had to be done. My new glasses and prescription sunglasses should be ready for collection this week or early next week. Despite the special at SpecSavers, this necessity has really broken the bank for me. Money (or lack thereof) is proving to be a great source of stress at the moment, especially with the future life adventures that are currently in the planning phase.

4.3. Luc’s car broke. Again. It’s “fixed” now, but it was “fixed” about eight times over the last few months, so I’m a bit of a skeptic about this. It’s got to the point where if you assume every day that the car is going to stop functioning properly, you won’t be disappointed. Poor old thing. It has served us well. [Edit: It’s back in the shop. Not fixed. 21/11/12]

4.4. I’ve started reading Cloud Atlas. I wanted to read it before I saw the movie, but I didn’t get around to it in time. The movie was amazing and thought-provoking and made me cry, so I opened the book up with a lot of expectations. So far, it has not disappointed. The writing is beautiful; the sort of writing that makes me want to give up writing myself, because why bother when David Mitchell exists?

“…downtrodden scriveners hurtling by like demisemiquavers in a Beethoven allegro.”

Seriously? *sigh* Not fair. (I’m only joking. I won’t give up, although I have wanted to most days this month.) I’m seeing the movie again this evening with my parents and Luc’s family before it goes off circuit.

4.5. [Edit] LINKIN PARK! I originally didn’t include this here because I wanted to give it a post of its own, but now I’m thinking I might get lazy, so I’ll put it here just in case. It was an absolutely amazing and fantastic show, sadly marred by a tragedy that happened outside the stadium. I hope I get to see the band again some time, somewhere. They defined my teenage years and they will always have a place on my playlist and in my squishy little heart. ^_^

There’s more, I’m sure, but I need to get back to NaNo now. Babaiii! :-/

One thought on “November Update

  1. Yay! A Laurie update!

    Why are eye tests so goddamn expensive? Random, but I was always so frustrated by this. Not mention lens changes and all that 😦

    I’m so glad that you like Scully! I miss coming home to that little furball. I know she’s in the best hands though, so that’s been very comforting for me.

    I so badly want you to be here, Laurie Pie. I can’t wait to explore this city with you.

Leave a Reply

