NaNoWriMo 2012

I wrote a novel last year. I wasn’t really happy with how it turned out. There were bits I was pleased with, but as a whole… meh. I haven’t written much else since I finished it, and I feel guilty about that every day. So I’m going to try NaNoWriMo. I’ve thought about doing NaNoWriMo every year for several years now, but I always chicken out. Last year I had a good excuse, because was I was already in the process of writing something, and my deadline was looming. This year, I don’t have an excuse.

I’m not going to write something good. I’m admitting that to myself now to take the pressure off. There isn’t enough time to overthink or to craft this thing. I’m not going to write within my preferred genre or style either. While I enjoy reading a wide range of things, I generally prefer writing cynical, bitter-sweet, first-person narratives around characters I can relate to, and settings I’m familiar with. For NaNo, I’m going to try writing an off-the-wall fantasy novel, in the third-person. Just because. At this point, it’s called [edit:] “The Raptor Wagon” and this is the synopsis I’ve posted on the NaNoWriMo website.

Six world-savers hop aboard a massive streamlined wagon hooked up to some powerful raptors and captained by a strange old woman with an empty nest in her hair. They’re on a journey across the face of their tiny planet to meet the Grand Master Kazarok. He’s going to complete their training, if they ever make it there…

I have a vague idea of how it starts and how it ends and who the characters are, but it’s always the middle bit that punches me in the teeth. It’s extremely likely that I won’t make it to the 50k word mark, but even if I get 20k, I’ll be pleased with myself. I need to break this writing deadlock before it breaks me.

Needless to say, I’ll be pretty absent online for the next four weeks, apart from a possible tidal wave of NaNo-related grumblings.

Good luck to all the Wrimos! I hope you all get what you’re hoping for out of this ridiculous challenge. 🙂

17 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012

    • Thanks! Highly doubt I’ll be letting anyone read the pile of shit. Maybe extracts. lol. But seriously. It’s going to be bad. I just need to prove that I can actually force that many words out of my head in a short space of time. Conquering quantity first, quality later. :p

  1. Sounds like fun. I’ve been trying to do NaNo for a couple years now. This year I am determined to write something half decent…

    • Hah, I felt like that a lot last year. I think as long as I keep moving forward and not fretting about how bad it is, I might stand a (small) chance of finishing. YOU CAN DO IT!

  2. Yea the middle is the worst! I always fall behind and do writing in bouts like every second or third day. I haven’t told myself that I’m not doing nano this year yet. Maybe when I get back from CPT I’ll write a novel in a week… until then though there just hasn’t been time to even think about it 😦

Leave a Reply

