Stubborn hairdressers and suboptimal haircuts.

This is a personal blog.

I’m allowed to blog about haircuts in here.

Yes.

This post is about haircuts.

I had a haircut on Saturday. I’m trying to grow my hair out. All I wanted was a trim to neaten things up and get rid of split ends. It didn’t go very well. It’s not terrible, but it would be better if it hadn’t happened. I’m pretty sure I could’ve done a better job myself. This is not an isolated incident. I’ve had the exact same mistakes made with my hair by a number of different hairdressers; in fact, probably the majority of the hairdressers I’ve been to.

PROBLEM 1

The very bottom layer of my hair at the back is straight, unlike the rest of my hair, which is curly. This means that when my hair is dry, this bottom layer is longer than the layer on top of it, assuming they’re cut straight while wet and combed. This usually isn’t a problem and creates a natural sort of layering. The problems start when the hairdressers insist on actually cutting layers there while my hair is wet, which, when my hair dries, results in a ridiculous difference in length between the straight bottom layer and frizzy, curly layer on top of it. It ends up looking like a deliberate mullet, and then I have to cut the bottom layer shorter myself (or get my mother to do it) in order to correct the mistake, which leaves me with shorter hair than I want to have. I try to explain this to them, but they never listen. They never believe me. One hairdresser even argued with me and told me that it only seems straighter sometimes when I tie my hair up because I’m pulling the curls out and it’s drying that way. No. It’s *always* straighter. My mother has the same thing. It’s freaking genetic. How would I not know that about my own hair? And why would I lie?

PROBLEM 2

The second common mistake is when they cut the fringey, feathery, shorter bits around my face. I like having short pieces in the front to flap around and tuck behind my ears, but they always comb far too much hair forward when they cut it so that the fringe essentially starts on the top of my head instead of just in the front. This might work for people who have heavy, silky hair that obeys the laws of gravity, but it doesn’t work for me at all. I end up with these massive fluffy chunks on either side of my head because they’re too far back to be tucked behind my ears, they’re too fluffy to hang co-operatively as part of the face-framing fringe thing, and they’re too short to be tied up with my ponytail/bun. This forces me to clip these annoying pieces back for several months until they grow out and can be tied up again. And it’s fucking annoying!

Here’s a visual explanation of the situation:

I don’t understand why this happens so often. Every time I have my hair cut, I give them specific information regarding the nature of my hair and then most of the time, they proceed to ignore everything I’ve said and apply some sort of standard haircutting formula to the process and it doesn’t work! Why do they ignore what I have to say? I’ve been living with my hair for my whole life. I know my hair better than they know my hair. Surely when you train to be a hairdresser, somebody tells you that hair is not always predictable? That different people have different hair? That certain techniques that work for a lot of people don’t necessarily work for everyone? Surely they cut enough hair that they know and understand these things? I can forgive the accidental mullet layer because maybe that’s a bit strange (although when I *tell* them about it, the least they could do is listen…), but the fringe situation? I have fine, fluffy, curly hair! It’s not that complicated! I’m not the only person in the world with hair like this! Anybody with my hair type would have the same problem if their fringe was cut in this way. What annoys me the most is when the person cutting my hair has a similar hair type to me and they *still* get it wrong. Seriously? Why?! THIS IS YOUR JOB. LEARN TO DO IT PROPERLY.

Maybe I should give up trying to grow it out and just have it shortish and dye it red again. This is a pic from a couple of years ago:

Yes? No? I don’t know. I hate making decisions. And the shorter cuts are equally problematic. The above picture was a good angle of a good hair day in good weather. It’s normally a lot less controlled than this. I need to do a DIY hairdressing course or something. Blah.

>:-[

ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED: Write an entire blog about haircuts.

ACHIEVEMENT IN PROGRESS: Be at peace with publishing an entire blog about haircuts. Click the button, Laurie… Just click it…

10 thoughts on “Stubborn hairdressers and suboptimal haircuts.

  1. I’m of the opinion that you look lovely either way! It’s funny how we all have strange relationships with our own hair, but I’ve seriously never noticed any of the “problems” you highlighted in this post.

    But if you want to dye your hair again or simply want a change, you should go for it 🙂 To date, I’ve never really regretted a drastic hair change.

    • I have regretted many! xD The problems are not noticeable normally because I use the clips etc, but I like being able to achieve the same effect without having bother with clips! I just lose clips all the time and keep having to buy more. 😛

  2. I don’t understand how in the movies the girl’s best friend is always her hairdresser. This has never been the case for me. They either ignore me completely while chatting to each other or lecture me. It must be because I only go to the hairdresser when my hair is in a state so bad that I need their help and I’ve never liked one hairdresser enough to hang around them long enough to build a relationship. But I totally get what you mean, in my experience they don’t really listen to what you say at all, they just want to get you onto the production line and out the door. Which really is not acceptable considering how much the average haircut costs!

    For the record I’ve never thought your hair looked bad, so I suppose whatever you’re doing with those hairclips really does the trick 🙂

    • Haha! Yes! Doesn’t matter how little you have cut: if you’re female, your haircut WILL be overpriced. Ridiculous. Luc had his hair cut by the same woman that day. His took longer, was drastically different, looked good, and cost half the price. Injustice!

      Also, it should be standard practice to have a 5 minute consultation before cutting, just so they can concentrate on what you’re saying and hopefully take you more seriously.

      Thanks! I have become skilled at the art of strategic clip usage.

  3. This is how I’ve always imagined the hairdresser’s thoughts as I walk into their place of business:

    oshit, oshit, oshit he’s got curly hair can’t deal with it what do I do now?

    okay, get a grip, I’ll just give him a wash while I think about it

    (washes hair)

    oh, now it’s straight, now problem, I can deal with it, easy peasy

    (cuts hair, it looks okay, relief)

    As I drive home my hair starts to dry and it looks absolutely rubbish, and I end up asking a friend or parent to chop off the Krusty-the-Clown bits. At least, as a man, I don’t pay as much for it as you do.

    I had this all sorted out for a while (my cousin is a pretty good hairdresser, and knows my hair and how I like it). But then I moved back to Cape Town

  4. As a fellow curlyhaired person, I have long since given up trusting hairdressers. They don’t listen, they charge a fortune and they never seem to get it right!

    As max said, perhaps the problem is the wash they insist on giving prior to the cut…

    Either way, I have determined that my two hairstyles for life are now outrageously long (and a bit frizzy and messy), or shaved real short. There is no middle ground!

    • Something needs to be done about this injustice! Hairdressers need to be trained to deal with these challenges! :O Perhaps I should try shaving my hair off. I had my hair really short for a while when I was a kid, but grew it back after a small child asked me if I was a girl or a boy. :-/

Leave a Reply

