Life Update

It’s not really that sort of blog, but it has been the sort of month that needs the sort of blog that this blog isn’t… so for now, this blog is that sort of blog. What was special about this month? Oh, plenty. I shall make a short list, because lists are fun.

NUMBER ONE. We moved! Ok, actually we moved in January, but we only started settling in properly in February. It’s been hectic. The new place is great and it’s almost totally organised now. Just a few boxes cluttering up the place and a slight curtain shortage. (We have towels pegged over the bedroom window.) There are some things that will take a bit of getting used to, like the sound of trains from 5:30 in the morning, but I’m very glad to be out of the Rondebosch flat. I needed change and change happened and yay.

NUMBER TWO. I handed in my masters “thesis”. I wrote my first novel. I finished up with being a student, possibly forever. Three different ways of emphasising the same achievement. I don’t know which is the most important. Whatever. I did it. I managed to avoid dragging the whole business on for another year, and I’m proud of myself, even if the thesis / novel wasn’t what I had imagined it would be when I started writing it in 2009. I’m going to miss UCT, but the student adventure needed to end. Six years is long enough.

NUMBER THREE. I got a job! I did not expect that to happen this month, let alone in the week after handing in my thesis. I wouldn’t have minded a bit of a break, to be honest, but I’m the sort of person who gets plagued by guilt as soon as I find myself sitting around doing nothing with no direction or objective to make me feel like I have a purpose in life. As soon as the thesis was in, I started hunting for jobs. Within two hours of sending my CV to one particular design and advertising studio, I was called up by the creative director who I met the next morning, on Friday the 17th, exactly a week after handing in my MA. I interned there for the week after that (last week) and now I’m starting a three month trial period as their copywriter. Scary, but awesome.

Ok, my list was even shorter than I thought it would be, but those are three pretty major things, I think. After more than a year of feeling like I was stuck in the mud, things are suddenly moving really fast… and it’s great. The main thing I need to do now is start sorting out my health. I’m really unfit and I often feel sleepy and unmotivated with regards to everything that isn’t work or academics. I spend most of my time sitting on my ass. I have to start balancing shit out a bit more. The headaches have improved dramatically since I stopped taking the pill a few months ago, so that’s good news. Sadly, my skin has gone back to being terrible because of this. I have a dermatologist appointment set up for next month (3 month waiting list… bleh…) and I’ll probably go on Roaccutane again. It’s a hellish drug, but I can deal with a few more months of uncomfortable vampirism to clear my skin up. Hopefully this time it’s permanent.

There’s a lot more I could write, but I don’t feel like it. I will say this though, because it’s important: I want a pet capybara. Quite badly. Have you seen their faces? Fucking hell. They look incredibly unimpressed.

Yes.

UPDATE COMPLETE.

6 thoughts on “Life Update

  1. Congrats on all you’ve achieved this month! =) [Achievement sound here] And it seems you are handling the shift into the working world well!

    I haven’t noticed any bad change in your skin the past few times I’ve seen you, I am sure you don’t have to put yourself through the evils roaccutane again.

    • Thanks Richard! If this was Azeroth, it would’ve been a month of many achievement sounds and golden sparkle explosions. 😛
      As for the skin, I have become quite good at make-up application and I’ve started buying fairly expensive products to make myself feel presentable! Of course it’s not necessarily as bad as I think it is, but I’d feel a lot better if it was how it used to be, so it’ll be worth the treatment. It’s not only about how it looks, it also doesn’t feel great to have bad skin. Definitely going to try do something about it. But thanks for the compliment. 🙂

  2. Oh congratulations! I’m so happy to hear about all of your triumphs 😀 Well done on all accounts! And, I must say, I love your writing even in this casual bloggy way. It’s fun 🙂
    And a capybara would be a cool pet indeed! Taking him for walks would be fun, his look letting everyone else know just how pitiful they really are, hehehe.

Leave a Reply

